Unsung Story’s Class System Using Diagrams

By Ishaan . February 12, 2014 . 11:31am

Unsung Story has less than three days to go before its Kickstarter campaign comes to an end, and Playdek have shared an overview of the game’s class system.


Unsung Story has three gameplay categories—Warriors for attacking and defending; Mages, which use magic for attacking, healing and buffing; and Monsters, which used specialized attacks. With those three gameplay types in mind, the game uses five primary classes, which are outlined below.


Attackers emphasize attack power and use melee weapons.


Defenders are frontline fighters that use defensive equipment to protect the party.


Mages use offensive and support magic, and can buff the party.


Healers use defensive and healing magic.


Tamers can command mythical beasts, using them for offense and defense.


Each class has a Profession, which is a cultural/intellectual/craft alignment, and each Profession has an affiliation bonus with another Profession. You can switch freely between classes depending on the kind of weapon you equip. Designer Yasumi Matsuno says that help text for each weapon will make its associated class clear.


There’s more on the Profession system over on the Unsung Story Kickstarter page.

Read more stories about & & & on Siliconera.

  • Ticktockman

    That’s some original class naming

  • klkAlexar

    I’m not sure I understand that diagram. I hope this gets funded because while I’m not really a PC/android gamer there’s always the chance that it will get ported later on to at least vita.

  • rurifan

    Maybe siliconera could post an article about this game every hour until the final conclusion of this epic kickstarter campaign.

  • mynameisdats

    Digging the profession names. Its so original. Especially estoteric profession. Hope devs reach their goal.

  • Like I said before in the previous articles, this game should get more regular coverage! it certainly must get more exposure!

  • As much as I’d like for the Kickstarter to raise $500,000 in the next 48 hours (so we can at least get a Vita port and Hitoshi Sakimoto music)… yeah, it probably isn’t happening. Guess I’m back to a “wait and see” approach so far as how this turns out.

    It does feel kinda odd/vaguely uncomfortable that Playdek is seemingly holding the involvement of Matsuno’s trademark collaborators (Smith, Yoshida, Sakimoto) hostage, though.

    Man all I want is an opportunity to try this game on a proper gaming platform, okay? I’ll buy it even if it sucks, just because it’s Matsuno.

  • Zer0faith

    Although I can understand much of the skeptism about this game, including the one about how much the FF tactics guy will be involved (he will be doing more than just looking over their shoulders guys) I still cant believe this hasnt met its goal yet.
    Personally Ive pledged 20 already since this might turn out to be a pleasant surprise and Ive spent 20 on FAR more stupider things.

  • notentirelythere

    The chances of this getting the bare-bones 50,000 within two days are high enough, but at the same time, I feel like they could have done muuuch better if they used more sense trying to promote this.
    All of this last minute, dense information without video, stripped of context from the rest of the game like any of the previously released art stills, vague as hell “story” trailers, tileless gamescreens, and the rest.
    What do people have to hold on to trying to understand what’s to be done with this project? Aside from a different tile shape and a new name, this could be any war-themed [S/T]RPG.

Video game stories from other sites on the web. These links leave Siliconera.

Siliconera Tests
Siliconera Videos