NewsPCPlayStation 4PlayStation 5

FFXIV Sales Will Resume at the End of January 2022

0
FFXIV Sales Will Resume at the End of January 2022

People will soon be able to buy Final Fantasy XIV again. Director and Producer Naoki Yoshida offered an update on the digital situation. On January 25, 2022, the suspended sales will be repealed and people can resume buying FFXIV. At 12am PT/3am ET/9am CET/5pm JST, people will be able to start buying the game again.

Yoshida also went over why this will be happening. He noted that the Oceania Data Center will open that same day. His announcement mentioned how they expect the additional data center will mean the MMORPG will better be able to handle the influx of players. He also mentioned that people are returning to their normal play schedules following the December 2021 release of FFXIV Endwalker.

However, this might not be permanent. Yoshida also brought up that sales could be suspended again to mitigate congestion.

Square Enix put sales and free trials on hold on December 16, 2021. At the time, the goal was to help alleviate pressure. This also came as the game passed a player milestone. As of December 2021, it passed over 25 million users.

Final Fantasy XIV and its Endwalker expansion are available for the PS4, PS5, and PC. The suspended FFXIV digital sales will resume on January 25, 2022.

Jenni Lada
Jenni is Editor-in-Chief at Siliconera and has been playing games since getting access to her parents' Intellivision as a toddler. She continues to play on every possible platform and loves all of the systems she owns. (These include a PS4, Switch, Xbox One, WonderSwan Color and even a Vectrex!) You may have also seen her work at GamerTell, Cheat Code Central, Michibiku and PlayStation LifeStyle.