News

Aquaplus Teaser Website is Counting Down to Something

0
Aquaplus Countdown Website

Visual novel and anime publisher Aquaplus opened a new teaser website that is counting down to some sort of reveal. While details are scarce, the countdown will end at 12 a.m. Japan Time on October 26, 2021 (October 25, 2021 at 11 a.m. Eastern / 5 p.m. CEST).

Aquaplus opened the teaser website on October 16, 2021, with the bright number “10” indicating the days left on the countdown. In a cryptic tweet, the publisher teased that something would be announced on the last day of the countdown. No other details have been revealed.

There are a few announcement possibilities. Back in 2020, the publisher revealed that several Utawarerumono console titles were currently in development. Since then, Aquaplus has only released Utawarerumono: ZAN 2 for PlayStation 4 and PlayStation 5 in Japan. The last mainline Utwawarerumono title to release on consoles was Mask of Truth in 2016.

Another possibility is the announcement of an Utawarerumono anime. Previously, Aquaplus president Naoya Shimokawa revealed that an anime adaptation of Mask of Truth was in the works. Since then, there has been no update on the status of the anime’s production.

Aquaplus is also the publisher of Aquapazza, which is celebrating its ten-year anniversary this year. However, it’s important to note that the original developers of Aquapazza ceased operations back in early 2020. Other Aquaplus franchises include To Heart and White Album.

The Aquaplus teaser website countdown timer will end on October 26, 2021, at 12 a.m. Japan Time (October 25, 2021 at 11 a.m. Eastern / 5 p.m. CEST).

Andrew Kiya
Andrew Kiya is a mixed Japanese writer, streamer, and activist. Born in Japan, and raised in both Japan and the United States, he is forever waiting for the next Ape Escape game.