NewsPCPlayStation 4PlayStation 5

Automatic Logout Reported During Final Fantasy XIV End Credits

0
FFXIV automatic logout

Square Enix reports that Final Fantasy XIV players watching the end credits may experience an automatic logout. This only occurs when watching the credits to prior expansions. To avoid this, players need to press a button, or click with their mouse during the credits of A Realm Reborn, Heavensward, Stormblood, and Shadowbringers.

According to the announcement, the procedure for avoiding automatic logout is not present in the ending credits of expansions prior to Endwalker. This results in the game logging players out because they are technically  “inactive.” By pressing a button or clicking with the mouse before thirty minutes passes, the player tells the game that they are still active. Moving the mouse cursor does not work. The FFXIV team apologizes for this inconvenience.

Additionally, there are rumors that using dance emotes or attacking striking dummies will let players avoid the automatic logout. However, the notice states that if the player character is left inactive in those states, the game will still change their status to “Away from Keyboard.” That means that they will still be logged out for inactivity.

Players have been experiencing difficulties logging in due to long queue times and multiple errors. This is the result of the large number of players trying to connect to servers in order to play Endwalker‘s early access. The development team is already using countermeasures such as limiting how many players can travel between areas at once, as well as suspending the character renaming service.

Final Fantasy XIV is immediately available on Windows PC, PlayStation 4, and PlayStation 5. The Endwalker expansion is in Early Access and its official launch date is December 7, 2021.

Stephanie Liu
Stephanie is a Canadian writer, translator, anime fan, and gamer. She only exhibits her true power at night.