Bravely Default Blends Elements From Final Fantasy V And Tales Series

This article is over 12 years old and may contain outdated information

Dengeki Online has a detailed look at Bravely Default: Flying Fairy’s job system, which the publication compares to Final Fantasy V. As mentioned earlier, players will be able to select staple jobs like knight, monk, white mage, and black mage. It appears Bravely Default has 24 different jobs, if this screenshot is anything to go by.

Recommended Videos


Tiz and the other heroes will earn job points and unlock, at most, ten abilities per class. Players can further customize characters by adding command and support abilities. By selecting support abilities you can give a white mage HP 10% up for a life boost or the knight’s ability to cover injured characters.


By selecting command abilities you can give white magic to a knight which allows the knight to use recovery magic like cura. White mages also have buffing spells like protect and shell plus aero, typically a wind elemental attack in the Final Fantasy series. Or if you want a master attacker you can make a monk with black magic. Want a more balanced character? Add physical skills to the usually frail white mage class.


rl2 rl23q


Bravely Default: Flying Fairy also has party chat scenes. These events are just like the skits from the Tales of series where two characters, like Tiz and Agnes in these screenshots, share their thoughts. These scenes give players a better look at the personalities of the characters and if you pay attention you hear a hint.


Bravely Default: Flying Fairy comes out on October 11.

Siliconera is supported by our audience. When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn a small affiliate commission. Learn more about our Affiliate Policy
related content
Related Content
Image of Siliconera Staff
Siliconera Staff
Sometimes we'll publish a story as a group. You'll find collaborative stories and some housekeeping announcements under this mysterious Siliconera Staff Writer account.