Bravely Default: Flying Fairy Flirts With Social Game Mechanics

The final Bravely Default: Flying Fairy demo lets players control all four characters – Tiz, Agnes, Ringabel, and Edea. Your first quest, if you choose to accept it, is to gather five beast livers for one of the townspeople. You can earn these by defeating Panthers (they’re good at dodging physical attacks) and White Caits (these guys attack with magic spells) on the field. Basically, this subquest is designed to get players to level up their jobs. In the demo, all of the jobs start off at level one, but level up really fast.

Recommended Videos



While you’re grinding, you can "level up" your town too. Bravely Default: Flying Fairy has a town building system where you can send townsfolk off on separate quests. The first one takes fifteen minutes, but most of the other ones take a couple of hours. We’re talking real time here and not Bravely Default’s day/night system. You can shorten the time by collecting more townsfolk via StreetPass and the demo is StreetPass enabled too. Clearing these quests gives the wanderer, an adventurer who acts as a save point and mid-dungeon item store, better items to sell. It’s essentially a social game with StreetPass instead of asking friends to click your cows.



After you gather livers, another villager asks you to bring back seven devil tails. You have to defeat Imps to get these and Imps only appear at night. Imps are more vicious than other enemies since they use drain magic to steal HP and cast fear. Sometimes you’ll see Imps paired with Venom Snakes, which can inflict poison.


We covered some of the Bravely Default: Flying Fairy classes before like Superstar and Knight. This demo adds new classes like the Ninja, Venus/Valkyrie, and Sword Master. Valkyrie/Venus looks like Bravely Default’s Dragoon. This class starts off with the Jump ability and after you level him up you get Crescent Moon, an attack that hits all of the enemies on screen. Jump and Crescent Moon consume BP (brave points) instead of magic points. You can’t double jump, but you can use Crescent Moon twice. This will drop your Brave to –3, which means you have to wait *three* turns until you can attack again. However, using Crescent Moon twice usually kills all of the enemies so you’ll win the battle with a bonus for finishing within one turn. Valkyrie/Venus also get an attack boost if a character dies in battle.


Ninjas in Bravely Default: Flying Fairy are different from the Final Fantasy games. Instead of having ninja magic or knives to throw, Ninja is an evasive class. Ninjas, at least in the demo, start off with an ability that gives you a 100% chance to evade one physical attack. The next two skills they get are passive abilities one grants a counterattack after evading and the other gives your character an attack boost if you evade.


Sword Master has an innate ability to counterattack. Their first battle skill boosts the amount of damage a counterattack deals. They also get an ability to cleave an enemy’s BP which can prevent them from attacking.

Siliconera is supported by our audience. When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn a small affiliate commission. Learn more about our Affiliate Policy
related content
Related Content
Image of Siliconera Staff
Siliconera Staff
Sometimes we'll publish a story as a group. You'll find collaborative stories and some housekeeping announcements under this mysterious Siliconera Staff Writer account.