NewsPCPlayStation 4PlayStation 5

FFXIV 6.1 Patch Will Overhaul PvP, Adding a New 5v5 Mode and Series Rewards

FFXIV Patch 6.1 PvP Series Rewards

The Final Fantasy XIV Letter from the Producer LIVE Part LXVII revealed a complete overhaul for the game’s player-versus-player systems coming with Patch 6.1. Namely, Square Enix will add a new small-scale 5v5 PvP game mode to FFXIV. A battle pass-like FFXIV Series rewards system will also give players mounts, gear, and other items. Square Enix is also removing The Feast PvP mode alongside the 6.1 Patch.

Recommended Videos

The new “Crystal Conflict” PvP mode will pit two teams of five players against each other. Each of the five team members must choose a different job, but there are no role restrictions. Players can also choose between casual, ranked, and custom matches. Matchmaking will be skill-based. Like FFXIV‘s The Feast PvP mode, players will be awarded special titles and accolades based on their final season ranking and tier.

The two teams are tasked with taking possession of a large Tactical Crystal located in the middle of a map. Similar to PvP modes in other games such as Overwatch and Team Fortress 2, the first team to push the crystal to the enemy’s goal wins. There are several different maps planned. Each map will also feature special mechanics to avoid, such as a Bomberman-style cross explosion across the map.

Furthermore, Square Enix is also removing role-specific actions and matchmaking in all PvP modes. Instead, players will have access to PvP-specific job actions and adrenaline rushes. Each job will also have the ability to self-heal, reducing the stress put on healer jobs when playing PvP. More information about these PvP-specific job actions will release at a later date.

Separate from the Crystal Conflict season rewards, a new “Series” rewards system will apply to all PvP modes. By playing any PvP mode, players will accumulate Series experience and increase their Series level. At certain intervals, players will unlock special mounts, gear, and other items specific to that series. After a certain period, the next series will begin and players’ levels will reset.

With each Series level, players will also receive Special Tokens that can be exchanged for rewards. These tokens will carry over to the next Series if players choose to accumulate them. Importantly, players will eventually be able to exchange their tokens for any past FFXIV Series rewards that they missed.

Finally, Square Enix announced that it is implementing a new “Calling Card” system that allows players to customize their profiles in PvP. These Calling Cards will eventually appear outside of PvP as well and will function as a business card of sorts. Customization options for Calling Cards will be included as rewards throughout the game, with some as PvP Season and Series rewards.

Final Fantasy XIV is immediately available for the PS4, PS5, and PC. FFXIV Endwalker will appear on December 7, 2021.

Andrew Kiya
About The Author
Andrew Kiya is a mixed Japanese staff writer, streamer, and activist. Born in Japan, and raised in both Japan and the United States, he is forever waiting for the next Ape Escape game.