Nintendo SwitchPCPlayStation 4Xbox One

Mega Man X Legacy Collection 1 & 2 Has A New ‘Rookie Hunter’ Mode


rookie hunter 1


Capcom released more screenshots and information on Mega Man X Legacy Collection and Mega Man X Legacy Collection 2, including screenshots of Mega Man X7 and Mega Man X8, and a new ‘Rookie Hunter’ mode that is available for every game in the series. [Thanks, 4Gamer!]


Mega Man X7

rockman x7 1

rockman x7 2 rockman x7 3

rockman x7 4 rockman x7 5

rockman x7 6 rockman x7 7


Mega Man X8

rockman x8 1

rockman x8 2 rockman x8 3

rockman x8 4 rockman x8 5

rockman x8 6

rockman x8 7 rockman x8 8


Rookie Hunter Mode

rookie hunter 1

rookie hunter 2 rookie hunter 3

rookie hunter 4 rookie hunter 5


In the new Rookie Hunter mode, which can be toggled both in-game and in the main menu, players will be able to halve the damage taken in every game of the Mega Man X series. Furthermore, Rookie Hunter mode in X4 to X8 will also prevent insta-deaths from spikes and bottomless pits.


Extra content

rookie hunter 6 rookie hunter 7


Both Legacy Collections will have bonus content that detail Mega Man X goods sold outside of the games, including gacha capsule toys, cards, and soundtracks. Both collections will also include ‘The Day of Σ’, an animated 25-minute episode which acts as a prologue to Mega Man X.


Mega Man X Legacy Collection 1+2 will be released on July 24, 2018 on the Nintendo Switch, PlayStation 4, Xbox One and PC. In case you missed it, it was announced that Mega Man X5’s Maverick names will be restored to its original versions.

Alistair Wong
About The Author
Very avid gamer with writing tendencies. Fan of Rockman and Pokémon and lots more!