Nintendo 3DS

Monster Hunter 4 Ultimate Shows Us The Latest Monster Subspecies



Monster Hunter 4 Ultimate adds new and difficult ranks of quests to the game, while introducing stronger “subspecies” of past monsters. The game’s official website gives us a look at what foes we’ll encounter in the upcoming game.


For those of you who aren’t familiar with Monster Hunter subspecies, they’re alternate versions of monsters, usually with different colors, attacks, and movement patterns. Sometimes they’re vastly more powerful than their original counterparts.


Here’s a look at some of the latest subspecies monsters we’ll see in Monster Hunter 4 Ultimate.


Nerscylla Subspecies:


2014-09-01_065352 img_b01

img_b02 img_b03


Seltas Queen Subspecies:


2014-09-01_065741 img_b01

img_b02 img_b03


Seltas Subspecies:



img_b01 img_b02


Najarala Subspecies:


2014-09-01_070112 img_b01

img_b02 img_b03


Zamtrios Subspecies:


2014-09-01_070228 img_b01

img_b02 img_b03


Tetsucabra Subspecies:


2014-09-01_070330 img_b01

img_b02 img_b03

Kecha Wacha Subspecies:

2014-09-01_070606 img_b01

img_b02 img_b03


Monster Hunter 4 Ultimate is slated for release in Japan on October 11, 2014, and in the West in early 2015 for Nintendo 3DS.

Editor-in-Chief at Siliconera. Gamer, avid hockey fan, and firm believer in the heart of the cards.