Monster Hunter X Won’t Feature Monster Subspecies

This article is over 8 years old and may contain outdated information

Recommended Videos

Monster Hunter X brings a variety of new gameplay elements with Hunting Styles, Hunting Arts, and even lets you play as a Felyne. It will, however, not have any subspecies, as revealed in the latest issue of Nintendo Dream. [Thanks, Game Memo, via Hachima.]


The information comes from an interview in the magazine, where the developers said “it depends on what exactly you consider a subspecies,” but for example, monsters listed as “Rathalos Subspecies” and other “subspecies” won’t make an appearance in the game.


Capcom explained that the reason is because they want to add more variety of regular monsters, rather than adding more monster subspecies, instead.


Monster Hunter X will release for the Nintendo 3DS in Japan on November 28th, 2015.

Siliconera is supported by our audience. When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn a small affiliate commission. Learn more about our Affiliate Policy
related content
Related Content
Image of Sato
Gamer, avid hockey fan, and firm believer in the heart of the cards.