NewsPlayStation 5

Sony Denies Reducing PlayStation 5 Production

0
PlayStation 5 Production

In a report from Bloomberg Japan, it was suggested that Sony would be reducing the production numbers for the PlayStation 5. Estimates for production of the next-gen console were estimated to be around 11 million units, which was a significant amount less than the original target of 15 million. However, Sony reached out to GamesIndustryBiz to clarify. [Thanks, GamesIndustryBiz!]

Sony was quoted as saying:

While we do not release the details related to manufacturing, the information provided by Bloomberg is false. We have not changed the production number for the PlayStation 5 since the start of mass production.

As for future updates regarding the PlayStation 5, Sony will hold the next showcase on September 16, 2020. The announcement was sent out via a tweet from the official PlayStation Twitter this past weekend. The showcase will begin at 1pm PT (9pm BST, September 17 05:00 JST) via Twitch and Youtube.

As it stands, Sony has not mentioned whether or not a price point, pre-order date, or release date will be announced at the PlayStation 5 showcase. However, the company did confirm that there will be updates on the latest titles from Worldwide Studios and other world-class development partners.

Pre-orders sign-ups are currently open for the PlayStation 5. However, this will be based on a lottery system. Those interested will need to submit their PlayStation Network ID attached to their email in order to be eligible to enter.

Kazuma Hashimoto
Translator and streamer, Kazuma spends his time playing a variety of games ranging from farming simulators to classic CRPGs.