Square Enix’s New Chill and EDM Remixes Include Xenogears Songs

Square Enix EDM Airship Cruise Beats Vol2 includes Dark Dawn and Soaring from Xenogears songs

Square Enix has released two new albums containing chill and EDM remixes of its games’ songs, and both of them include music from Xenogears. The company published Mellow Minstrel Mix Vol.2 and Airship Cruise Beats Vol.2 on October 26, 2022, which are available for purchase digitally.

Each album contains a couple of Xenogears songs. Mellow Minstrel Mix Vol.2 features chill remixes of “A Distant Promise” (also known as “Faraway Promise”) and the ending song “Small Two of Pieces.” Meanwhile, Airship Cruise Beats Vol.2 features EDM renditions of “Dark Dawn” (Dark Daybreak) and “Soaring” (Flight).

The tracklist for Mellow Minstrel Mix Vol.2 is as follows:

  1. “Cosmo Canyon” from Final Fantasy VII
  2. “Under the Stars” from Final Fantasy Tactics
  3. “Zanarkand” from Final Fantasy X
  4. “Podorui” from Romancing SaGa 3
  5. “Rising Sun” from Final Fantasy Adventure
  6. “Vague Hope” from NieR:Automata
  7. “Small Two of Pieces -Screeching Shards- from Xenogears
  8. “Legend of the Mermaids” from Romancing SaGa 2
  9. “Bejeweled City in Ruins” from Legend of Mana
  10. “Tressa, the Merchand” from Octopath Traveler
  11. “Protagonist’s Theme” from Final Fantasy Tactics
  12. “Weight of the World” from NieR:Automata
  13. “A Distant Promise” from Xenogears

And here is the full tracklist for Airship Cruise Beats Vol.2:

  1. “Dark Dawn” from Xenogears
  2. “Pain of the Universe” from Legend of Mana
  3. “Horrible Shadow” from Romancing SaGa 2
  4. “Awakening” from Final Fantasy XI
  5. “Four Sinistrals Battle II” from Romancing SaGa 3
  6. “The Decisive Battle” from Final Fantasy VI
  7. “Emil” from NieR Gestalt and Replicant
  8. “The Emperor’s Wrath” from Romancing SaGa
  9. “The Dalmasca Estersand” from Final Fantasy XII
  10. “Soaring” from Xenogears
  11. “Hightension Wire” from Trials of Mana
  12. “Jenova” from Final Fantasy VII
  13. “Hills of Radiant Winds” from NieR Gestalt and Replicant

This marks the first time that tracks from the 1998 PlayStation title Xenogears appear in Square Enix’s Chill and EDM remixes. The company had previously released the first volumes for both collections on March 9, 2022. Tracks from Final FantasyNieRSaGa, and Mana series also appeared since the first launch. However, the first volumes instead featured tracks from the 1995 entry Chrono Trigger, such as “Peaceful Days” and “Frog’s Theme.”

Square Enix’s chill Mellow Minstrel Mix and EDM Airship Cruise Beats albums are available for purchase digitally via Apple Music.

Kite Stenbuck
An avid gamer who learned the Japanese language mostly by playing Japanese games. Especially enjoys Dynasty Warriors, Ace Combat, and Gundam a lot.