Nintendo DS

The Archetypical Classes Of Dragon Quest IX


    Dragon Quest IX has significantly more character customization options than any other Dragon Quest game to date. You start your adventure by making a hero by picking a gender, face, body, and a class for your character. Square Enix isn’t straying far from the basics with the first five announced classes in Dragon Quest IX. RPG fans should be very familiar with terms like warrior and priest, but here are some details on what they do in Dragon Quest IX.


    image image


    Warrior – A master of weapons and sword skills. Equipping killer equipment is one the warrior’s unique specialities.


    image image


    Mage – A master of magic, but not weapons. The mage can defeat enemies with powerful attack spells and wears magical garments.


    image image


    Priest – A master of healing arts. Unlike priests in other games these guys can use spears.


    image image


    Martial Artist – A master of unarmed combat. Martial Artists are strong and speedy, but don’t have as much defense as the warrior class. Martial Artists equip claws for weapons.


    image image


    Thief – A master of speed and stealing. Thieves have a “steal” command and an ability to search for treasure.


    Images courtesy of Square Enix.

    Siliconera Staff
    Sometimes we'll publish a story as a group. You'll find collaborative stories and some housekeeping announcements under this mysterious camel.

    You may also like

    More in Nintendo DS