NewsNintendo SwitchPlayStation 4

Theatrhythm Final Bar Line Gameplay, DLC Detailed

Theatrhythm Final Bar Line Gameplay DLC

Square Enix shared more Theatrhythm Final Bar Line gameplay details and DLC reveals. The reveal expands further on the three different play styles and the “Profica” profile feature. Additionally, a breakdown of the game’s DLC regime and more visuals of included Final Fantasy characters were shown off. [Thanks, Famitsu!]

Though the basic gameplay of Theatrhythm hasn’t changed for Final Bar line, three styles are available for players to pick from. There’s the Standard Style that follows the core gameplay, a Pair Style for local multiplayer, and a Simple Style for less demanding play.

Pair Style is a Theatrhythm Final Bar Line gameplay style meant for two players playing on the same screen. Three different options vary up the note display based on your preferences. BMS and FMS styles separate the players into upper and lower lanes, while EMS style uses the left and right sides.

Simple Style is less demanding and uses only one button and the sticks for gameplay.

The “Profica” profile system is a player card that can be customized with art and showcase your records. It can also be set with a “Summon Stone” that you can gift freely to an opponent after a multiplayer match.

Theatrhythm Final Bar Line Characters

The preview also showcased some more characters coming to participate in Theatrhythm Final Bar Line. Some are returning from previous installments and others are already confirmedFinal Bar Line will also feature two versions of FFXIV‘s Y’shtola, one wearing her A Realm Reborn outfit and another wearing her clothes from Heavensward.

As for the DLC, the base game will include 385 songs from across the franchise. The Digital Deluxe Edition adds 27 songs, and includes the first of three Season Passes. The Premium Digital Deluxe Edition adds all the passes. Each pass entitles buyers to five packs of songs, with 30 tracks in total per pass. In Japan each Season Pass will cost 2,200 Yen (about $15 USD).

The breakdown of each pass and what series its songs are from is as follows.

  • Season Pass 1
    • SaGa series pack Vol. 1(7 songs)
    • Live A Live pack (4 songs)
    • The World Ends With You pack (6 songs)
    • NieR series pack Vol. 1 (5 songs)
    • SaGa series pack Vol. 2 (8 songs)
  • Season Pass 2
    • NieR series pack Vol. 2 (6 songs)
    • Chrono Trigger & Chrono Cross pack Vol. 1 (6 songs)
    • Chrono Trigger & Chrono Cross pack Vol. 2 (6 songs)
    • Seiken Densetsu series pack (7 songs)
    • Octopath Traveler pack (5 songs)
  • Season Pass 3
    • SaGa series pack Vol. 3 (7 songs)
    • Seiken Densetsu series pack Vol. 2 (6 songs)
    • Xenogears pack (3 songs)
    • Mystery Pack 1 (6 songs)*
    • Mystery Pack 2 (8 songs)*

*The mystery packs will be revealed at a later date.

Theatrhythm Final Bar Line releases on February 16, 2023 on PS4 and Nintendo Switch, and DLC will appear in multiple season passes. Check out the full track list at this link.

Josh Tolentino
Josh Tolentino is Senior Staff Writer at Siliconera. He previously helped run Japanator, prior to its merger with Siliconera. He's also got bylines at Destructoid, GameCritics, The Escapist, and far too many posts on Twitter.