Final Fantasy XIV’s PS3 To PS4 Account Transfer Is Free, But You Lose The PS3 Version

By Spencer . September 19, 2013 . 4:55am

imageSquare Enix said players who purchase the PlayStation 3 version of Final Fantasy XIV: A Realm Reborn will be able to upgrade to the PlayStation 4 version without any additional costs. Speaking with Famitsu, producer/director Naoki Yoshida elaborated on the transfer, which is actually a transfer of login rights.

 

Yoshida said to eliminate any upgrade costs, players will lose the rights to play the PlayStation 3 version if they upgrade to Final Fantasy XIV: A Realm Reborn for PlayStation 4. Once you do the transfer to PS4 you will not be able to login to Final Fantasy XIV: A Realm Reborn on PS3. Yoshida further clarified that even if your PS4 is in your living room with FFXIV and your PS3 is in your bedroom you won’t be able to play FFXIV on your PS3 because the login rights are bound to the PS4 version. If you want to play on multiple devices with the same account you will need to buy another copy similar to how you need the PC version and console version to play on both platforms.

 

Final Fantasy XIV: A Realm Reborn for PlayStation 4 will be in full HD, 1920 x 1080p resolution. You will be able to play the game with a keyboard and mouse. You can also use the touch panel on the top of the DualShock 4 as a mouse. Final Fantasy XIV: A Realm Reborn will support remote play and Yoshida was candid about the experience on Vita. He said it would be tough to play since the text in the chat windows would be small and the Vita doesn’t have enough buttons. He’s going to see if he can utilize the rear touch panel as a possible solution.

 

Yoshida also said he thinks he should be able to show the PlayStation 4 version around the end of the year and it should be indistinguishable from the PC version.


Read more stories about & & on Siliconera.

Video game stories from other sites on the web. These links leave Siliconera.

Siliconera Tests
Siliconera Videos

Popular