News

Capcom Teases Announcement With Countdown Website

0
Capcom Countdown Website

Capcom opened up a new countdown website, which may be teasing an announcement for later this month. The countdown is set to end in six days, at 2 PM JST on February 21, 2022 (12 AM EST / 5 AM CEST).

The official Capcom Twitter account posted a tweet linking to the website just minutes after the countdown passed the six-day mark. The tweet only included two emojis of an hourglass and a pair of eyes. While there are no further details about what the announcement will entail, there are a few notable possibilities.

Fans were quick to point out similarities between the countdown timer’s font and the font used in the Resident Evil Village title. In January 2022, Capcom revealed that it was planning to release new DLC for Village sometime in 2022. Seeing as Capcom announced it was working on DLC for the latest mainline title in June 2021, an official DLC reveal coming next week is not out of the realm of possibility.

Another possibility is a Resident Evil 4 remake, following the 2021 release of Resident Evil 4 VR. Rumors and insider reports of a Resident Evil 4 remake have been circulating for years, as it would be a natural progression from 2020’s Resident Evil 3 remake. Similarly, those rumors also mentioned a possible 2022 announcement window, though there have not been any official confirmations.

The Capcom countdown website will finish on February 21, 2022, at 2 PM JST (12 AM EST / 5 AM CEST).

Andrew Kiya
Andrew Kiya is a mixed Japanese writer, streamer, and activist. Born in Japan, and raised in both Japan and the United States, he is forever waiting for the next Ape Escape game.