News

Pokemon 1008 Species Commemorated with Special Video

0
pokemon 1008 encounters

On January 12, 2023, the official Pokemon YouTube channel will premiere a commemorative video called Pokemon 1008 Encounters. This is to celebrate how, as of Generation 9, there are over 1000 species in the Pokemon franchise. The video will look back on how we met all 1008 species over the course of almost 30 years. [Thanks, Famitsu!]

Pokemon 1008 Encounters will premiere at 11pm JST, which will be 6am PT/9am ET on January 12, 2023. It is unknown how long the video will be. We also do not know how The Pokemon Company plans on dividing up the attention. All of the Pokemon species could get equal focus. However, it is just as likely that it will prioritize popular species.

Pokemon Scarlet and Violet, the current generation of the Pokemon series, came out worldwide on November 18, 2022. The game introduced 103 new Pokemon species, such as like Tandemaus and Tinkaton. Nintendo has not yet officially announced any upcoming new content for Generation 9. However, as Sword and Shield had two major post-game updates, there may be something on the horizon for Paldea.

The Pokemon 1008 Encounters video will debut on January 12, 2023. Pokemon Scarlet and Violet are readily available on the Nintendo Switch.

Stephanie Liu
Stephanie is a Canadian writer, translator, anime fan, and gamer. She only exhibits her true power at night.