Yooka-Laylee And The Impossible Lair Levels Will Each Have Alternate Level States

Recommended Videos


While there will only be 20 2.5D Yooka-Laylee and the Impossible Lair levels, it turns out it will feel like there are more. Each of these levels will have an alternate state. Once people find the trigger to change the level, it will offer an entirely different experience when Yooka and Laylee head into it.


For example, one instance is Gasping Glade. It is normally a forest. However, if Yooka and Laylee hit a character in the 3D overworld and flick a switch, water will be let into the area. This changes the chapter five level to Gasping Glade – Grown. Water is then in areas where it never was before and more plants are overgrown.


Here is the Yooka-Laylee and the Impossible Lair alternate level states trailer. It also looks at how Buzzsaw Falls, Factory Fright, and Urban Uprise can change.



Yooka-Laylee and the Impossible Lair will be available on the Nintendo Switch, PlayStation 4, Xbox One, and PC in Q4 2019.

Siliconera is supported by our audience. When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn a small affiliate commission. Learn more about our Affiliate Policy
related content
Related Content
Image of Jenni Lada
Jenni Lada
Jenni is Editor-in-Chief at Siliconera and has been playing games since getting access to her parents' Intellivision as a toddler. She continues to play on every possible platform and loves all of the systems she owns. (These include a PS4, Switch, Xbox One, WonderSwan Color and even a Vectrex!) You may have also seen her work at GamerTell, Cheat Code Central, Michibiku and PlayStation LifeStyle.