Dark Souls II DLC Episodes Will Cost 800 Yen Each Or 2,000 Yen For All Three

By Spencer . June 5, 2014 . 12:07am

image From Software has more details about the Dark Souls II downloadable content trilogy. Each episode in the Lost Crowns saga will cost 800 yen in Japan or you can purchase the entire set with a season pass for 2,000 yen.


The release schedule is the same as North America with The Crown of the Sunken King set for July 22, The Crown of the Old Iron King on August 26, and The Crown of the Ivory King for September 24.


From Software’s Dark Souls II DLC will have new stages, weapons, armor, magic, enemies, and boss monsters.

Read more stories about & & & on Siliconera.

  • dahuuuundge

    I hope each of the DLC have the length to warrent the price. You can speed run through all the area in DaS 2 in the matter of minutes

    • Abysswalker90

      Yes, but you can also spend hours upon hours on each..

    • Asura

      No different from DS1.

  • Demeanor

    So in western currency…
    EU: 5.7 eu single episode, 14.3 for all three
    US: 7.8 $ single episode, 19.5 for all three
    Well, the prices are not that outrageous, it’ll all come down to how much content they’ll bring to the table, and what quality.
    I still have to finish the main game once >_>

    • official price is $25

  • Sakurazaki

    The Season’s Pass for all three DLC on Steam in currently $25 ;___;

    Exchange rates aren’t thaaat bad, are they?

    • MrRobbyM

      It’s just because Dark Souls is the most popular in Amuricuh. They know a lot of people would be willing to pay that price. I’m guessing it’s a lot on content if they’re pricing it that high too.

      Still, that doesn’t sit well with me(this DLC to begin with doesn’t sit well with me). I bought the game day one, have preordered every Souls game since Demon’s Souls and I still feel sort of betrayed. They’ve always said they want to deliver full games and make the games they want to make. Artorias of Abyss DLC for DaS1 was a special case. But everything went wrong with DaS2. The lies with the above statement, the lies in advertising a much better looking game and the pricey DLC when the full game itself was twice the cost, even more if you’re playing on consoles.

      I feel like this is Bamco’s doing, but it still taints a series that I’ve held so highly for years now.

      • Asura

        I love DS2, and while in many places DS1 was better, I’m very confident in saying DS2 overall is a better game (the impact it makes on you aside, as the Soul series is more worn out by now).
        But I agree. This seems like it’s going too far. Sure they said they’d make DLC if people wanted it but the game has barely been out so far, and it’s already made. Does it really take only a couple months to dish out DLC?
        Does not bode well for DS3 or Beast Souls or w/e comes next.

  • Zypharium

    I’m really mad right now. They clearly said that Dark Souls II would not have any DLC. I am glad that I did not buy this game, because I knew that they would lie. This was just really obvious.

    • Sakurazaki

      Where’d they say that? They had DLC for preorders since day 1, but it was just weapons/shields that I never really used.

      IMO, vanilla DkSII is already worth the $40 I spent and more (i.e. I find it a complete game already). I bought it with a pretty good hunch that there would be DLC. I’m fine with this as long as FS doesn’t disappoint. So far they’ve exceeded my expectations in my book.

      Nothing wrong with waiting for the next Prepare to Die Edition either though.

      • Nan

        lol exactly. like, uh??? dlc was included from the get-go

        • MrRobbyM

          Silly weapons you can acquire in game later on is different from this.

          • Nan


      • SuperSailorV

        Worth the collective $60+$38 (double-dipped PS3+PC), to me. The gameplay itself is so… satisfying in a way that only people who have seen a Souls game through to the end would understand.

        I’m super super excited about the DLC, if only to delve deeper into the lore!

        As an aside, about the “DLC” weapons (which were eventually acquirable in the game anyway)… if you check the .bin file on your PC responsible for unlocking them, it literally reads “DLC06 DARK SOULS II Sales gimmick”. I have heard FROM has been against things like this, but I also remember them saying if there was enough demand from fans, they’d make DLC. I’m glad they did!

    • Cazar

      They never said that. I feel like a broken record by now but all they said that DLC was not in their plans while they were developing the game; they never said that they would never consider it – in fact they even said that they were open to the idea.

      And I don’t understand why the prospect of DLC being added later on would stop you from buying a game; it’s not the same concept as day one DLC. Nor do I understand why it would make you angry if you never bought the game in the first place.

      • MrRobbyM

        They actually did. They redacted that statement later on and said what you mentioned. But they’ve been strong supporters of releasing full games. DaS1 was a special case.

        DLC being added later on is alright, but you can’t say this wasn’t planned since development. This is a lot of content that isn’t just whipped up after it being released just a few months ago.

        • Cazar

          I take it you’re referring to this interview? http://www.edge-online.com/features/dark-souls-producer-says-pc-version-was-rushed-problems-were-expected/

          This one quote is what everyone blew out of proportion:

          We did do additional content for Dark Souls, but generally downloadable content for Dark Souls II is not really being considered.

          I don’t see how people managed to interpret that as “clearly saying that Dark Souls II would not have DLC.” And even if they did misinterpret it you think they’d have plenty of time to blow their casket after they revised their statements instead of now.

          I’m not going to try to argue about when it was actually planned, but a lot of users here seemed more eager to believe that Mario Golf: World Tour’s day-one DLC with similar amounts of content was somehow all done post-development. But I won’t dare go there again. -shudders-

    • MaidKillua

      Well first of all Dark Souls 2 was MUCH larger than the first and clearly a complete game. It’s not like this was content they intentionally cut just so they could sell you it later. Secondly, I vaguely remember that while yes, they ORIGINALLY intended to do no DLC, basically everyone was like “We’d be happy to pay for DLC if it’s good” and they were like “Well then we might consider it”. And here it is. And pretty much everyone with basic reasoning skills is pleased with the news.

  • Adri├ín Alucard

    They should fix the PC version first, the controls (mouse+keyboard) are completely broken.

    Now I feel cheated, I bought a broke and incomplete product

  • Now I know why the game felt so short they cut a lot of content.
    regardless I will buy all three episodes.

  • Kornelious

    Just waiting for that Season Pass to go up…Just another on the list of my Summer Digital “To Buy” list :)

    • Shinobikens

      Season pass is already out on PC. Idk about consoles though

  • Asura

    So can anybody explain this season pass thing to me? I’ve never bothered with ’em before.

    Does it HAVE to be a pre-order? Can I just buy a season pass on release of the first DLC? Or does that option go away?

Video game stories from other sites on the web. These links leave Siliconera.

Siliconera Tests
Siliconera Videos