News

One Piece Manga Taking a One-Month Hiatus

0
One Piece Manga Hiatus

The One Piece manga will be taking a one-month hiatus in order to prepare for the series’ final arc. In a message to fans, series creator Eiichiro Oda stated that he would release two more chapters before taking the hiatus. As such, One Piece will return with the 34th issue of Shonen Jump on July 25, 2022. Oda also revealed a few details surrounding the upcoming One Piece special broadcast. [Thanks, ryokutya!]

According to Oda, the main reason behind the hiatus is to prepare for the series’ next and final arc. With the current Wano Country arc coming to a close, Oda expressed interest in visiting Africa in order to oversee the filming of the One Piece live-action series. However, with the ongoing global pandemic, Oda’s plans to travel to Africa were snubbed.

Furthermore, Oda teased a few upcoming events. One such event appears to be some sort of anniversary celebration. There will also be a collaboration, event, and commercial appearing sometime in Summer 2022.

Additionally, the One Piece YouTube account is hosting a special broadcast on June 8, 2022, starting at 7 PM JST (3 AM PDT / 12 PM CEST). The broadcast will reveal the voice actors behind One Piece Film Red‘s heroine Uta as well as Gordon. Other notable reveals include the film’s main teaser trailer, official theme song, a project centered around Uta, and details surrounding the manga’s upcoming arc.

The One Piece manga will take a hiatus from the 30th issue of Shonen Jump, and return with the 34th issue on July 25, 2022. The upcoming film, One Piece Film Red, will release in Japanese theatres on August 6, 2022.

Andrew Kiya
Andrew Kiya is a mixed Japanese writer, streamer, and activist. Born in Japan, and raised in both Japan and the United States, he is forever waiting for the next Ape Escape game.