Square Enix is Releasing a Chrono Trigger Jazz Album

Chrono Trigger Jazz Album

Square Enix opened pre-orders in Japan for a Chrono Trigger jazz arrangement album. The new album is the fifth in the Square Enix Jazz album series, which features jazz versions of soundtracks from the SaGa series, to Final Fantasy. The album will cost ¥3,300 (about $29) and pre-orders will last until January 26, 2022.

The jazz album will feature 11 songs from Chrono Trigger, including popular tracks such as World Revolution and Outskirts of Time. Prominent trombonist Eijiro Nakagawa, who worked on the original Chrono Trigger soundtrack, is also featured. On the bass is Xenoblade 2 musician Ryu Kawamura.

Below is a list of all planned tracks:

  • “Peaceful Days”
  • “Frog’s Theme”
  • “Lavos’ Theme”
  • “Robo’s Theme”
  • “The Brink of Time”
  • “Battle with Magus”
  • “Schala’s Theme”
  • “Chrono and Marle ~Far Off Promise~”
  • “World Revolution”
  • “Outskirts of Time”
  • “Chrono Trigger”

Pre-orders from the Japanese Square Enix e-Store will also include a bonus alternate arrangement of Frog’s Theme. While the album has not appeared in western Square Enix e-stores, other albums from the Square Enix Jazz collection are available outside of Japan. Earlier this year, for example, Square Enix released the Square Enix Jazz SaGa album. Additionally, the official Chrono Trigger and Chrono Cross soundtracks are currently available on Spotify.

The Square Enix Jazz Chrono Trigger album is available for pre-order in Japan and will cost ¥3,300 (about $29). Pre-orders will last until January 26, 2022, after which the album will release.

Andrew Kiya
Andrew Kiya is a mixed Japanese writer, streamer, and activist. Born in Japan, and raised in both Japan and the United States, he is forever waiting for the next Ape Escape game.