An In-Depth Demonstration Of Fantasy Life

By Ishaan . June 13, 2014 . 8:29am

Nintendo are publishing Fantasy Life in North America and Europe this October, and this past week, the company’s Treehouse product development team provided an in-depth look at the life-simulation RPG during a live-stream. You can watch the recording below.



Fantasy Life allows you to select a profession and live its “life”. There are 12 to choose from—Paladin, Mercenary, Hunter, Wizard, Cook, Angler, Woodcutter, Miner, Blacksmith, Carpenter, Tailor and Alchemist—and you can switch lives at any time.


Skills that you’ve learnt from previous lives will remain with you even after you’ve switched, and you’ll actually need to learn the skills of multiple lives to get the most out of the game.

Read more stories about & & on Siliconera.

  • ShadowJetX

    Yeah man, this is totally an offline FF XIV ARR.

    • There is cooperative online play in the game actually so this may as well be a mini mmo.

    • Daniel

      Which came out first cuz depending on that you could also say ARR is an online version of this

  • Takane Shijou

    I really do love games that let me play as a Miner/Blacksmith in general, rather than needing to be a battle class all the time.

    Can’t wait to pick this up,

  • Ann Weschenfeller

    Kinda like a jrpgesque, simpler, cuter versión of Ultima Online. Count me in! I’m super interested in this.

  • Damn… this is FANTASY LIFE? The game I keep seeing being article-d here on Siliconera? Count me in!

  • ocaritna

    Still need confirmation if this is the LINK! ver. from the JP ver or not. Anyone?

    • Takane Shijou

      I’m thinking it is Link, since the box art has the Nintendo Network icon on it, as did the Japanese version. Japanese original did not have the icon obviously, but Link did.

      And, it makes sense. We did get the re-release of BD when that came over, so there’s really no reason that they’d give us just the older version of FL. But yes, it’d be nice to see them confirm this at some point soon.

    • RTK813

      This is definitely the link version. It has all of the improvements such as extra save files and online play. You can see little glimpses of it throughout the video.

      • ocaritna

        They say “multiplayer” tho so i thought it’s just like ad hoc play and such (but idk that the original version has only 1 save file). Thanks for clearing up !

        • RTK813

          Yeah, I had to look closely when they were on the multiplayer menu, but It definitely had online as an option. :)

  • My fingers are tingling to play this! Uggh Release date cannot come soon enough.

  • Matt

    Europe pls :(

    • 31 october on it said, hope ot’s true!

  • David

    Fantasy Life Link content seems pretty much confirmed, but I’m hoping it also includes the big 1.4 update that was added after Link was released. I don’t see why it wouldn’t (and if not at release, then as a free update later like it was for Japan), but you never know.

    • Codi Schumacher

      i agree and i want my pet dragon sorry kitty and dog you cant compare with a dragon

  • Dystopiq

    One of my wishes for E3 came true so I’m happy. I’ll be grabbing this.

  • wahyudil

    a final fantasy job system with an animal crossing-harvest moon adventure? woww, this game is better than I expected … made me want to play this rather smash bros in october

  • Please make a bundle with it!

  • Mace

    Is this what became of Wonder Flick? The level 5 jrpg that was revealed at a Sony event last year. The design aesthetic and creature design seem very similar, but the gameplay looks totally different.

    • Dave Kokandy

      No, this is an older game, released in Japan in December, 2012.

      • Mace

        2012? But this was debuted as a title for ps4 back in 2013! Granted I think it was also available for other platforms as well. Unless you mean Fantasy Life was an older game that came out in 2012 in Japan… which would make more sense. But what of Wonder Flick?! Why are they so similar in art style too.

        • Dave Kokandy

          I meant Fantasy Life can’t possibly be what became of your game because Fantasy Life is older. :) Sorry for not being clear. Maybe they share a design team or something.

        • Roger

          Fantasy Life had a long development cycle. Brownie Brown (studio that produced Mother 3) and Level-5 co-developed it.

          The alpha game was supposed to be 2-D in a Mother 3 aesthetic, for DS. They changed for 3-D in 3DS, sometime later.

          • Mace

            Oh this is really cool, thanks for the rad info!

  • jinkusiraga

    Anyone else reminded of Mabinogi…?

    • Codi Schumacher

      does seem a bit like it but you can change classes more freely than in mobinogi by the look of the E3 video nintendo showed

  • Lemski07

    included in my expenses this october!

  • awat

    what about some DQ love ? :( still no DQVII My 3DS is very upset

Video game stories from other sites on the web. These links leave Siliconera.

Siliconera Tests
Siliconera Videos