PlayStation 4

Capcom Reveals Final Street Fighter V Beta, In-Game Store Launch, And Cinematic Story Expansion

0

Street Fighter V’s February 16, 2016 launch date is looming ahead, but Capcom had two more surprises to announce. People preparing for the game will get once more chance to play. A fourth beta test was announced.

 

From 12:01am PT/2:01am CT/3:01am ET on January 30, until 7pm PT/9pm CT/10pm ET on January 31, 2016, PlayStation 4 and Windows PC owners get one last hurrah with Street Fighter V in this final beta test. It is unknown which characters will be available to use, though Capcom has promised more details closer to the beta’s start date.

 

Information concerning Street Fighter V’s Story Mode was also discussed. Each character will have his or her own storyline with art by Bengus at launch. However, there will also be an additional story arc released in June 2016. This free update is being referred to as a cinematic story expansion set between Street Fighter IV and III, focusing on characters’ reactions and actions regarding another one of M. Bison’s Shadaloo plot. The one and a half minute trailer above offers a sample of the plot. Nash looks at a picture of Guile at the end of the video, so perhaps that’s a hint as to when he’ll be added to the game.

 

Street Fighter V’s in-game store and first post launch content release will come sometime in March 2016. Capcom confirmed that completing the character stories and some single player content will result in enough Fight Money to at least purchase one new character, though people will also be able to use Zenny, acquired with real cash, for purchases. There will be no additional content to purchase immediately after launch.

 

sfv_story_expansion_-_01 sfv_story_expansion_-_02 sfv_story_expansion_-_03 sfv_story_expansion_-_04 sfv_story_expansion_-_05 sfv_character_story_-_chun-li sfv_character_story_-_m._bison sfv_character_story_-_nash sfv_character_story_-_r._mika sfv_character_story_-_ryu

 

People will be able to pick up the PlayStation 4 and Windows PC versions of Street Fighter V in North America and Europe on February 16, 2016. It will come to Japan on February 18, 2016.

Jenni Lada
Jenni is Editor-in-Chief at Siliconera and has been playing games since getting access to her parents' Intellivision as a toddler. She continues to play on every possible platform and loves all of the systems she owns. (These include a PS4, Switch, Xbox One, WonderSwan Color and even a Vectrex!) You may have also seen her work at GamerTell, Cheat Code Central, Michibiku and PlayStation LifeStyle.