Dice Awards 2021 Winners FFVIIR Hades

DICE Awards 2021 Winners Include Final Fantasy VII Remake and Hades

This article is over 3 years old and may contain outdated information

The Academy of Interactive Arts and Sciences announced its winners for 2021’s DICE Awards. Supergiant Games’ Hades walked away with five awards, including Game of the Year. Square Enix’s Final Fantasy VII Remake won RPG of the Year.

Recommended Videos

Here is the full list of 23 winners for the 2021 DICE Awards:

  • Action Game of the Year – Hades
  • Adventure Game of the Year – Ghost of Tsushima
  • Family Game of the Year – Animal Crossing: New Horizons
  • Fighting Game of the Year – Mortal Kombat 11 Ultimate
  • Game of the Year – Hades
  • Immersive Reality Game of the Year – Half-Life: Alyx
  • Immersive Reality Technical Achievement – Half-Life: Alyx
  • Mobile Game of the Year – Legends of Runeterra
  • Online Game of the Year – Fall Guys: Ultimate Knockout
  • Outstanding Achievement for an Independent Game – Hades
  • Outstanding Achievement in Animation – The Last of Us Part II
  • Outstanding Achievement in Art Direction – Ghost of Tsushima
  • Outstanding Achievement in Audio Design – Ghost of Tsushima
  • Outstanding Achievement in Character – Miles Morales (Marvel’s Spider-Man: Miles Morales)
  • Outstanding Achievement in Game Design – Hades
  • Outstanding Achievement in Game Direction – Hades
  • Outstanding Achievement in Original Music Composition – Ghost of Tsushima
  • Outstanding Achievement in Story – The Last of Us Part II
  • Outstanding Technical Achievement – Dreams
  • Racing Game of the Year – Mario Kart Live
  • Role-Playing Game of the Year – Final Fantasy VII Remake
  • Sports Game of the Year – Tony Hawk’s Pro Skater 1 + 2
  • Strategy/Simulation Game of the Year – Microsoft Flight Simulator

Celebrating achievements in the video game industry, the ceremony was digital this year. Greg Miller and Jessica Chobot co-hosted the award show with a virtual panel of nominees. The Academy of Interactive Arts and Sciences said people can watch full conversations of each panel in the coming months. A panel of video game industry peers selected by the AIAS decide on the show’s nominees and winners.

The RPG of the Year will receive its PS5 port will a full release titled Final Fantasy VII Remake Intergrade on June 10, 2021.

Siliconera is supported by our audience. When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn a small affiliate commission. Learn more about our Affiliate Policy
Image of Oni Dino
Oni Dino
Oni Dino is a staff writer, Japanese-English translator, localization editor, and podcaster. He has several video game credits and regularly translates columns from Masahiro Sakurai and Shigeru Miyamoto. When not knee-deep in a JRPG and wishing games had more environmental story-telling, he's attending industry events and interviewing creative auteurs to share their stories.