News

gamescom Opening Night Live Will Focus on Updates for Announced Games

0
gamescom opening night live gamescom 2020

People expecting a lot of new games at gamescom Opening Night Live will probably be disappointed. Geoff Keighley offers regular updates on what will show up at the event ahead of the online-only gamescom 2020, and the latest on Twitter confirmed that “the show is primarily focused on updates from announced titles.” New games will appear, but new information on ones we already know about will be the priority.

This tracks with the announcements that have already been confirmed for the event. The first reveal is that Fall Guys season 2 will show up during the two hour presentation. DOOM Eternal’s The Ancient Gods, Part 1 campaign expansion will be at the event. Call of Duty: Black Ops – Cold War will have its world premiere. There will also be some time dedicated to Destiny 2’s Beyond Light.

The latest update also had the current expected running time and game total. The show should last about two hours. 18 publishers’ 38 games will be shown off.

gamescom Opening Night Live will be held at 11am PT/2pm ET/8pm CET on August 27, 2020. People can watch it on Twitch and YouTube. While the physical event was canceled as a result of the COVID-19 pandemic, gamescom 2020’s digital event will be held between August 27-30, 2020.

Jenni Lada
Jenni is Editor-in-Chief at Siliconera and has been playing games since getting access to her parents' Intellivision as a toddler. She continues to play on every possible platform and loves all of the systems she owns. (These include a PS4, Switch, Xbox One, WonderSwan Color and even a Vectrex!) You may have also seen her work at GamerTell, Cheat Code Central, Michibiku and PlayStation LifeStyle.