GDC 2021 Game of the Year Winner and Other Categories Revealed

Hades GDC 2021 Game of the Year

The Game Developer Conference, or GDC, has announced its winners for the various award categories in 2021. Developer Supergiant Games walked away with several awards, specifically the GDC Game of the Year 2021 award for its most recent title Hades. Additionally, titles like The Last of Us II and Genshin Impact also received rewards. [Thanks, Famitsu!]

The categories for the GDC 2021 awards included Game of the Year, Best Audio, Best Debut, and Best Design. While some AAA developers walked away with awards, smaller teams and individual developers also received awards. Specifically Phasmophobia, which largely featured a single developer working on the title until recently. However, Supergiant Games walked away with the most awards, with Hades receiving a total of three.

The full list of winners is as follows:

  • Game of the Year: Hades
  • Best Audio: Hades
  • Best Debut: Phasmophobia
  • Best Design: Hades
  • Innovation Award: Dreams
  • Best Mobile Game: Genshin Impact
  • Best Narrative: The Last of Us Part II
  • Best Technology: Microsoft Flight Simulator
  • Best Visual Art: Ghost of Tsushima
  • Best VR/AR Game: Half-Life: Alyx
  • Audience Award: Ghost of Tsushima

Titles that were nominated for the Game of the Year award included Animal Crossing: New Horizons, The Last of Us II, Ghost of Tsushima, and Half-Life: Alyx.

Additionally, independent titles like Umerangi Generation received several awards within the Independent Game Festival bracket. It received the grand prize and an award for best narrative.

Kazuma Hashimoto
Translator and streamer, Kazuma spends his time playing a variety of games ranging from farming simulators to classic CRPGs.