.hack 20th anniversary book

.hack 20th Anniversary Book to Launch in June 2022

This article is over 2 years old and may contain outdated information

Famitsu is publishing a fan book celebrating the 20th anniversary of the .hack series. The book will release on June 20, 2022, and will include exclusive content such as developer interviews, development documents, and more. Pre-orders are open on Amazon Japan and Ebten starting at ¥3,520 (about $28). [Thanks, Famitsu!]

Recommended Videos

The first game in the .hack series, .hack//INFECTION, released for the PlayStation 2 in Japan on June 20, 2002. The game later released in the US on February 10, 2003, and Europe on March 24, 2004. Initially a four-part game series, the .hack franchise has since spawned a number of spin-offs, remasters, manga, and anime.

The anniversary book cover illustration will prominently feature the main protagonist of the .hack series, Kite. Famitsu notes that the fan book will include a 20-year retrospective on the series, as well as developer interviews and other behind-the-scenes content. Additionally, Famitsu is running a survey asking fans about their favorite .hack characters, games, and media. The survey will be open until April 30, 2022.

Two online retailers will sell the book. First, the Amazon Japan listing shows the .hack 20th anniversary book with a price of ¥3,520 (about $28). Japanese retailer Ebten will also sell a special version of the fan book, which will include an A2-size tapestry of the cover illustration. This version will cost ¥5,940 (about $47).

Pre-orders are currently available for the .hack 20th anniversary book. The book will release on June 20, 2022, the series’ 20th anniversary.

Siliconera is supported by our audience. When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn a small affiliate commission. Learn more about our Affiliate Policy
Image of Andrew Kiya
Andrew Kiya
Andrew Kiya is a mixed Japanese staff writer, streamer, and activist. Born in Japan, and raised in both Japan and the United States, he is forever waiting for the next Ape Escape game.