Japanese Game Musicians Make New Album On A Famicom Cartridge


Japanese manufacturer Colombus Circle has announced that it will be releasing an 11-track album for the Famicom on January 31st 2016.


It’s called 8-Bit Music Power and includes music from a range of game musicans that previously worked on a number of classics including Omodaka (Ape Escape) Keishi Yonao (Mad Stalker: Full Metal Force), Yuriko Keino (Xevious, Dig Dug), and Takeaki Kunimoto (Starship Hector, Robo Warrior). There are also contemporary chiptune artists included in the album such as Prof. Sakamoto and Saitone.


The cartridge will cost 4,104 yen (about $34) and is currently available to order on Amazon Japan. You will need a Famicom in order to play the cartridge and therefore listen to the album.

Chris Priestman