Mario Kart 8’s Mario Kart TV Website Is Closing Down

0

mk8

 

One of Mario Kart 8’s features isn’t going to have as prominent an online presence. Nintendo has announced the Mario Kart TV website will be shutting down on April 4, 2016 at 11pm PT/1am CT/2am ET.

 

The Mario Kart TV website launched in 2014, the same year Mario Kart 8 came to the Nintendo Wii U. The site acted as a means of compiling highlight footage created by the game and uploaded by players to YouTube. People could visit and immediately see the most recent footage, as well as see which cars, parts, characters, and tracks were most recently picked.

 

While the Mario Kart TV website is being shut down, it doesn’t mean people won’t be able to watch or upload Mario Kart 8 footage. Nintendo has confirmed people can still watch Mario Kart TV from within the Nintendo Wii U game, videos will still be able to be uploaded to YouTube, and all Mario Kart 8 videos already uploaded to YouTube will not be deleted.

 

Mario Kart 8 is immediately available on the Nintendo Wii U.

Jenni Lada
Jenni is Editor-in-Chief at Siliconera and has been playing games since getting access to her parents' Intellivision as a toddler. She continues to play on every possible platform and loves all of the systems she owns. (These include a PS4, Switch, Xbox One, WonderSwan Color and even a Vectrex!) You may have also seen her work at GamerTell, Cheat Code Central, Michibiku and PlayStation LifeStyle.