Nintendo SwitchPCPlayStation 4Xbox One

Mega Man X5 Robot Master Names Restored In Mega Man X Legacy Collection 2


mega man x collection 1


People who played the localized version of Mega Man X5 may have noticed something seemed awry in a new trailer for Mega Man X Legacy Collection 1+2. In a video describing the X Challenge Mode, it was revealed that Robot Master names for Mega Man X5 have reverted to their original Japanese names. (Thanks, GameSpot!)


When Mega Man X5 appeared on the PlayStation in 2001, all eight Robot Masters were given names that referenced the band Guns ‘n Roses. Capcom confirmed to GameSpot that the names were changed to “unify the Mega Man X Maverick-naming convention.”


Here is a list of the original Mega Man X5 localized Robot Master names and the original Japanese names they will return to in the Mega Man X Legacy Collection 2.

  • Axle the Red will be Spike Rosered
  • Dark Dizzy will be Dark Necrobat
  • Duff McWhalen will be Tidal Whale
  • Grizzly Slash will be Crescent Grizzly
  • Izzy Glow will be Shining Firefly
  • Mattrex will be Burn Dinorex
  • The Skiver will be Spiral Pegasus
  • Squid Adler will be Volt Kraken


Mega Man X Legacy Collection 1+2 will be released on July 24, 2018 on the Nintendo Switch, PlayStation 4, Xbox One and PC. In case you missed it, the collection’s X Challenge Mode was highlighted earlier.

Jenni Lada
Jenni is Editor-in-Chief at Siliconera and has been playing games since getting access to her parents' Intellivision as a toddler. She continues to play on every possible platform and loves all of the systems she owns. (These include a PS4, Switch, Xbox One, WonderSwan Color and even a Vectrex!) You may have also seen her work at GamerTell, Cheat Code Central, Michibiku and PlayStation LifeStyle.