News

PlayDate Pre-orders Will Open Next Week

0
Playdate pre-orders

Back in June 2021, Panic confirmed it would begin taking Playdate pre-orders at its site in July 2021. Now, the company offered exact details about when these orders will open. It also went over how the process will look and promised it won’t “sell out.” People can place an order starting at 10am PT/ 1pm ET / 5pm GMT on July 29, 2021. The first round will ship before 2021 ends.

Panic also explained how the Playdate pre-order process will work. There will be batches sold. When someone places an order, they are paying for it right away. So if someone just gets a Playdate, it will be $179. The first run will consist of about 20,000 units, and those will ship at the end of 2021. Additional orders will ship in 2022. Only select countries in North America, Europe, Asia, and Oceania will be able to place orders.

Here’s the list of countries where Playdates can be shipped. Only two can be ordered per person.

  • Australia
  • Belgium
  • Canada
  • Denmark
  • France
  • Germany
  • Ireland
  • Italy
  • Japan
  • Netherlands
  • Poland
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland
  • United Kingdom
  • United States

The Playdate pre-orders will open on July 29, 2021. The first around 20,000 units will ship at the end of 2021.

Jenni Lada
Jenni is Editor-in-Chief at Siliconera and has been playing games since getting access to her parents' Intellivision as a toddler. She continues to play on every possible platform and loves all of the systems she owns. (These include a PS4, Switch, Xbox One, WonderSwan Color and even a Vectrex!) You may have also seen her work at GamerTell, Cheat Code Central, Michibiku and PlayStation LifeStyle.