NewsPlayStation 5

PSN Is Down, but the Genshin Impact PS5 Update Is Up

0
genshin impact ps5 update psn is down

miHoYo announced that the Genshin Impact PS5 update is now live. The company also went into cross-save compatibility for this version. However, Sony confirmed the PlayStation Network is down. That doesn’t mean people can’t get the update, however.

Since PSN is down as of 3:25pm PT/6:25pm ET on April 27, 2021, people can’t access the PlayStation Store. This keeps people from also accessing things like certain games and account management. So if someone doesn’t already have Genshin Impact on their system, they might not be able to get the PS5 update.

Genshin Impact itself is also undergoing maintenance ahead of the April 28, 2021 1.5 update. That should conclude around 7pm PT/10pm ET on April 27, 2021. Once it is done, people will receive a Primogem reward for the amount of time the game was unavailable. They will also have access to new quests, new Hangout events, an opportunity to earn Diona, and a Zhongli rerun banner.

Once the PSN is up again and maintenance is done, PS5 owners will be able to pick up where they left off. miHoYo confirmed the PS4 version save data is compatible with the PS5 one. However, people can’t use Genshin Impact PS5 save data in the PC or mobile version.

Genshin Impact is available for the PS4, PS5, PC, and mobile devices. It is also in development for the Nintendo Switch.

Jenni Lada
Jenni is Editor-in-Chief at Siliconera and has been playing games since getting access to her parents' Intellivision as a toddler. She continues to play on every possible platform and loves all of the systems she owns. (These include a PS4, Switch, Xbox One, WonderSwan Color and even a Vectrex!) You may have also seen her work at GamerTell, Cheat Code Central, Michibiku and PlayStation LifeStyle.