Sony Interactive Entertainment is launching its PSN name change feature in 2019 and some players who got to check it out shared info from its overview, important information, and restrictions. [Thanks, Resetera.]
We previously learned that older PlayStation 3, PlayStation 4, and PlayStation Vita games may not support the feature and could experience errors as a result. In the latest info provided from the beta testers, it’s been revealed that some of these problems include losing access to content including paid DLC that you have acquired for your games.
Other possibilities include losing your progress within games, including save data, leaderboard data, and progress towards trophies. Parts of game applications might not function properly, both offline and online. Lastly, your previous online ID(s) may remain visible to you and other players in some places.
Here are the highlights:
Change Online ID Overview
As part of the System Software 6.10 preview, we are rolling out the upcoming Change Online ID system feature. As a preview user you will be able to change your Online ID using the new system tools.
To use this feature please ensure you have a clear understanding of the implications of changing your Online ID and the software’s restrictions – described in the following sections – before software installation. If you are unsure, do not download and install the Preview Programme software.
Important Information Before Changing your Online ID:
Not all games and applications for PS4™, PS3™, PS Vita, and other PlayStation® systems support the Online ID change feature. If you change your Online ID:
- You may lose access to content (including paid-for content) that you have acquired for your games, including content like add-ons and virtual currency.
- You may lose your progress within games, including game saved data, leaderboard data and progress toward trophies.
- Parts of your games and applications might not function properly, both online and offline.
- Your previous Online ID(s) may remain visible to you and other players in some places.
Change Online ID Restrictions During Preview:
The changes during the preview will adhere to the following structure:
- First change is free for all users.
- Second change will be charged at €9.99 / £7.99 (PlayStation®Plus subscribers receive a 50% discount).
- If your previous Online ID violates any of the current Terms of Service, you will not be able to revert back to your previous Online ID.
- You can revert to your previous Online ID once per account during the preview period.
- Sub-Accounts cannot utilise the Change Online ID feature.
- After you change your Online ID, it may take a few hours for some services and applications to reflect the new ID.
If for any reason you have issues after changing your Online ID you can revert back to your previous ID at no charge. However:
- you may only do this once during the preview period;
- changing back to your previous Online ID may not fix all issues (you may not recover all or any lost content, progress and functionality; and
- if you want to change back, do so as soon as possible because changing back to your previous Online ID may affect content, game progress and functionality associated with your new Online ID.
The PSN name change feature is expected to launch in early 2019.