News

Sega Teases a Game Gear Micro Reveal

0
game gear micro

It looks like Sega has potential plans for its next micro-console. This time, it is going handheld with the Game Gear Micro. A teaser website is now open, letting people know a full reveal is coming at at 12am ET/4am UTC/1pm JST on June 3, 2020 as part of the Sega 60th anniversary. At the moment, it only shows a person’s hand with a black version of the unit in it. [Thanks, Famitsu and Daan Koopman!]

game gear micro

While the site suggests the full announcement won’t arrive until later this evening, apparently the teaser site preview thumbnail was available for a brief time and showed some of the full announcement’s details. In it, it shows an October 6, 2020 launch date for Japan, a ¥4,980 (~$46) price point, and four different color options.

While small, each of the Game Gear Micro options call back to a different color originally available for the system. For example, the blue model was available as a Sega Sports System design. The red and yellow designs were released in Japan.

The Game Gear Micro full announcement will come at 12am ET/4am UTC/1pm JST on June 3, 2020. Previously, Sega asked fans to share their thoughts with the company ahead of its 60th celebration. It also offered SNS icons.

Jenni Lada
Jenni is Editor-in-Chief at Siliconera and has been playing games since getting access to her parents' Intellivision as a toddler. She continues to play on every possible platform and loves all of the systems she owns. (These include a PS4, Switch, Xbox One, WonderSwan Color and even a Vectrex!) You may have also seen her work at GamerTell, Cheat Code Central, Michibiku and PlayStation LifeStyle.