Street Fighter II, Pokémon, Donkey Kong, And Halo Inducted Into Video Game Hall of Fame

Established in 2015, the Video Game Hall of Fame recognizes individual video games of all kinds, ranging from arcade to console, and judged on longevity, iconic status, and geographic reach and influence.

Recommended Videos

In the “Class of 2017” for the Video Game Hall of Fame, twelve nominations were announced back in March with Pokémon Red & Green/Blue (1996) which made its third appearance as a nominee, followed by Street Fighter II: The World Warrior (1991) and Tomb Raider (1996) making a return for the second year.

New finalists included Donkey Kong (1981), Final Fantasy VII (1997), Halo: Combat Evolved (2001), Microsoft Solitaire (1991), Mortal Kombat (1992), Myst (1993), Portal (2007), Resident Evil (1996), and Wii Sports (2006).

The following titles are new inductees in the Class of 2017:

  • Donkey Kong (1981)
  • Halo: Combat Evolved (2001)
  • Pokémon Red and Green (1996)
  • Street Fighter II: The World Warrior (1991)

The four titles will shine forever alongside inductees of the past two years:

Class of 2016

  • The Legend of Zelda (1986)
  • The Oregon Trail (1971)
  • The Sims (2000)
  • Sonic the Hedgehog (1991)
  • Space Invaders (1978)

Class of 2015

  • Doom (1993)
  • Pac-Man (1980)
  • Pong (1972)
  • Super Mario Bros. (1985)
  • Tetris (1984)
  • World of Warcraft (2004)

Siliconera is supported by our audience. When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn a small affiliate commission. Learn more about our Affiliate Policy
Image of Sato
Gamer, avid hockey fan, and firm believer in the heart of the cards.