Nintendo 3DS

Super Mario Maker For 3DS Erases Save Data If Used On More Than One 3DS

0

emQ8UW8eL6Q1g1lNszxJXluByToIPe1n People playing Super Mario Maker on the Nintendo 3DS may run into some trouble if they wish to share one physical copy of the game with multiple users. Nintendo has issued an official notice regarding the game’s save files. If someone has a Super Mario Maker Nintendo 3DS cartridge and use it in a system different from the one on which the save file was created, the save data on the cartridge will need to be erased to begin playing the game on the different system.

 

This is due to the way save data in Super Mario Maker works on the Nintendo 3DS. When you begin using the game, new save data is created on both the cartridge and SD card. You need both files to continue playing. If someone else uses that cartridge and wants to play on a different Nintendo 3DS, the save on the cartridge must be completely erased and a new one created to go with the SD card data on the second device.

 

Super Mario Maker is now available for the Nintendo 3DS.

Jenni Lada
Jenni is Editor-in-Chief at Siliconera and has been playing games since getting access to her parents' Intellivision as a toddler. She continues to play on every possible platform and loves all of the systems she owns. (These include a PS4, Switch, Xbox One, WonderSwan Color and even a Vectrex!) You may have also seen her work at GamerTell, Cheat Code Central, Michibiku and PlayStation LifeStyle.