NewsPlayStation 5

304 PS2-Inspired PS5s Will Be Made by SUP3R5

0
ps2 inspired ps5

A new, unofficial PlayStation 5 is in the works. SUP3R5 announced it is working on PS2-inspired PS5s and DualSense controllers. It will open pre-orders for both the system and controller at 12pm PT/3pm ET/9pm CET on January 8, 2021. Both items will be available in limited quantities and arrive in late Spring 2021.

There will be 500 PS2-inspired DualSense controllers sold. Each one will cost $99. Each one takes cues from the original PlayStation 2 controller, as it is completely black and has action buttons that are more colorful than a normal model. A DualSense normally is white with black accents black and costs $69.99.

ps2 inspired ps5 3

There will be fewer PS2-inspired PS5s sold. Only 304 of the $649 digital and $749 disc models will be available. To compare, a normal digital edition is $399 and standard edition is $499. As pointed out on Twitter, this is to honor the March 4, 2000 PS2 launch date.

ps2 inspired ps5 2

This isn’t the first unusual PS5 we’ve seen. Back in 2020, Truly Exquisite announced its 24K gold PS5 models. Each one of the three different varieties cost over $10,000.

The SUP3R5 PS2-inspired PlayStation 5 and DualSense controller pre-orders will open on January 8, 2021, with both items shipping in late Spring 2021.

Jenni Lada
Jenni is Editor-in-Chief at Siliconera and has been playing games since getting access to her parents' Intellivision as a toddler. She continues to play on every possible platform and loves all of the systems she owns. (These include a PS4, Switch, Xbox One, WonderSwan Color and even a Vectrex!) You may have also seen her work at GamerTell, Cheat Code Central, Michibiku and PlayStation LifeStyle.