Freedom Wars’ Western Release Will Have 50 Cities Instead Of Japanese Prefectures

Recommended Videos

In Japan, Freedom Wars has a mode called City-State War, which features 47 Panopticon prefectures, based on Japan’s 47 prefectures, with each one competing with one another for resources and development.


According to the Nick Accordino, Associate Project Manager for Freedom Wars’ North American release, in the English-language version of the game, the City-State War mode will not use Japanese prefectures.


Over on the PlayStation Blog, Accordino stated in the comments section: “We won’t be using the same prefecture system – we’ll be using an alternate list of 50 cities from throughout the globe to represent all of the Western Panopticons out there. (And of course, you’re free to choose which one you’d like to represent.)”


Freedom Wars doesn’t have a release date in North America and Europe yet, although Sony have said they plan on releasing the game this year. North America will see a retail release while Europe will get the game as a download-only title.

Siliconera is supported by our audience. When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn a small affiliate commission. Learn more about our Affiliate Policy
related content
Related Content
Image of Ishaan Sahdev
Ishaan Sahdev
Ishaan specializes in game design/sales analysis. He's the former managing editor of Siliconera and wrote the book "The Legend of Zelda - A Complete Development History". He also used to moonlight as a professional manga editor. These days, his day job has nothing to do with games, but the two inform each other nonetheless.