NewsNintendo 3DSNintendo SwitchWii U

Nintendo Online Services Are Temporarily Down for All Systems

0
nintendo switch online 1

All Nintendo online services are down. The company’s official website has posted a notice confirming that people will be temporarily unable to engage in activities involving the internet on the Nintendo 3DS, Nintendo Switch, and Nintendo Wii U. In addition, it also notes web services have been disrupted.

The official Nintendo online service status page confirmed Nintendo is aware of the issue and working on it. It also noted that this began at 1:56am PT/4:56am ET on March 17, 2020. It did not offer any information regarding when it might be back online. The Japanese Twitter account has also been on top of things, providing updates on service status, with its most recent update saying an announcement will be made when service is restored. Nintendo of Europe’s account has posted an update as well. (The North American account hasn’t.)

This is especially difficult for multiple reasons. One is due to the current state of affairs worldwide, as COVID-19 coronavirus has left many people practicing social distancing and staying home. In addition, the Nintendo Indie World Showcase is being held at 10am PT/1pm ET/6pm CET today, and such presentations often involve a shadowdrop game that is immediately available after the video airs.

Nintendo online services are normally available on the Nintendo 3DS, Nintendo Switch, and Nintendo Wii U. During the outage, people will be unable to do things like play games online or shop at the eShop.

Jenni Lada
Jenni is Editor-in-Chief at Siliconera and has been playing games since getting access to her parents' Intellivision as a toddler. She continues to play on every possible platform and loves all of the systems she owns. (These include a PS4, Switch, Xbox One, WonderSwan Color and even a Vectrex!) You may have also seen her work at GamerTell, Cheat Code Central, Michibiku and PlayStation LifeStyle.