Pokémon X and Y’s New Legendaries Are Xerneas And Yveltal

This article is over 11 years old and may contain outdated information

Yesterday, Nintendo revealed the next generation of Pokémon games—Pokémon X/Y, which are in development for the Nintendo 3DS. As with the previous games, the mascot monsters for both titles are two legendary Pokémon. Now, we know their names.

Recommended Videos


Xerneas (pronounced ZURR-nee-us)


Yveltal (pronounced ee-VELL-tall)


Pokémon X/Y will be released worldwide in October 2013.

Siliconera is supported by our audience. When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn a small affiliate commission. Learn more about our Affiliate Policy
related content
Related Content
Image of Ishaan Sahdev
Ishaan Sahdev
Ishaan specializes in game design/sales analysis. He's the former managing editor of Siliconera and wrote the book "The Legend of Zelda - A Complete Development History". He also used to moonlight as a professional manga editor. These days, his day job has nothing to do with games, but the two inform each other nonetheless.