Unsung Story’s Class System Using Diagrams

This article is over 10 years old and may contain outdated information

Recommended Videos

Unsung Story has less than three days to go before its Kickstarter campaign comes to an end, and Playdek have shared an overview of the game’s class system.


Unsung Story has three gameplay categories—Warriors for attacking and defending; Mages, which use magic for attacking, healing and buffing; and Monsters, which used specialized attacks. With those three gameplay types in mind, the game uses five primary classes, which are outlined below.


Attackers emphasize attack power and use melee weapons.


Defenders are frontline fighters that use defensive equipment to protect the party.


Mages use offensive and support magic, and can buff the party.


Healers use defensive and healing magic.


Tamers can command mythical beasts, using them for offense and defense.


Each class has a Profession, which is a cultural/intellectual/craft alignment, and each Profession has an affiliation bonus with another Profession. You can switch freely between classes depending on the kind of weapon you equip. Designer Yasumi Matsuno says that help text for each weapon will make its associated class clear.


There’s more on the Profession system over on the Unsung Story Kickstarter page.

Siliconera is supported by our audience. When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn a small affiliate commission. Learn more about our Affiliate Policy
Image of Ishaan Sahdev
Ishaan Sahdev
Ishaan specializes in game design/sales analysis. He's the former managing editor of Siliconera and wrote the book "The Legend of Zelda - A Complete Development History". He also used to moonlight as a professional manga editor. These days, his day job has nothing to do with games, but the two inform each other nonetheless.