NewsPCPlayStation 4PlayStation 5Xbox OneXbox Series X

Demon Slayer: The Hinokami Chronicles To Add Playable Demons In Free Update

Demon Slayer Hinokami Chronicles Update

Developer CyberConnect2 has announced a free, post-launch update for Demon Slayer: The Hinokami Chronicles, which will add playable demons to the game. Specifically, CyberConnect2 will add demon characters to the game’s Versus Mode roster, which currently features a total of 18 characters. There is currently no confirmation as to which demons these will be.

Recommended Videos

In a similar announcement on the PlayStation Blog, CyberConnect2 revealed that it plans to release multiple free title updates once Demon Slayer: The Hinokami Chronicles launches later this year. More information regarding each update will come at a later date.

Again, this news did not reveal any of the new playable demon characters. However, the PlayStation blog post features images of the Spider Demon Rui from the Natagumo Mountain Arc. The story mode in Demon Slayer: The Hinokami Chronicles will play out until the events of Mugen Train, making Rui and other notable demons possible playable options.

The Tsuzumi Mansion demon, for instance, was featured in past promotional materials, as was Susamaru and Yahaba. The second season of Demon Slayer releases later this year, which will add even more possibilities to the expanding roster.

Demon Slayer: The Hinokami Chronicles will release for the PlayStation 4, PlayStation 5, Xbox One, Xbox Series X, and Windows PC on October 14, 2021 in Japan and on October 15, 2021 in English worldwide. Players who purchase the Digital Deluxe Edition of the game can start playing earlier on October 13, 2021.

Andrew Kiya
About The Author
Andrew Kiya is a mixed Japanese staff writer, streamer, and activist. Born in Japan, and raised in both Japan and the United States, he is forever waiting for the next Ape Escape game.