ps5 logo Playstation 5 logo

The Sony CES 2020 media briefing was held at 5pm PT/8pm ET/2am CET on January 6, 2020, and it wasn’t filled with any PlayStation 5 news. The main announcement related to the new system had to do with its logo. It uses the same font as the PlayStation 4’s current logo, showing the iconic PlayStation symbol followed by PS5.

Here is an image of the PlayStation 4 logo, to show how the two compare to one another.

sony ps4 logo playstation 4 logo

While new information wasn’t offered, Sony Interactive Entertainment President and CEO Jim Ryan did share details we already knew about the upcoming system. He noted it will have 3D audio sound, hardware-based ray tracing, haptics and adaptive triggers, ultra HD Blu-rays, and an ultra-high speed solid-state drive.

The PlayStation 5 was officially announced in October 2019. Prior to that, a performance comparison video between it and the PlayStation 4 Pro was shared by the company. We do know that it will be released in time for the 2020 holiday season. Also, Sony has been working to make developing games for this system easier.

In the meantime, Sony recently celebrated providing 25 years of play with a trailer looking at all of the different systems the company has released over the years.

Jenni Lada
Jenni has been playing games since getting access to her parents' Intellivision as a toddler. She continues to play on every possible platform and loves all of the systems she owns. (These include a PS4, Switch, Xbox One, WonderSwan Color and even a Vectrex!) You may have also seen her work at GamerTell, CheatCC, Michibiku and PlayStation LifeStyle.

You may also like

More in News